Idea of the Day: Offshore Wind Energy Is a Smart Clean Energy Alternative

February 4, 2013 by  
Filed under Green Energy News

    PRINT:

  • print icon

  • SHARE:

  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Since 1896, when Californians sunk the first oil well into the seabed from a wharf jutting 300 feet into the Pacific Ocean, the American offshore energy industry has been all about fossil fuels.

But our potential is so much greater. “Drill now, drill everywhere” is a closed-minded strategy of the past. And with every day that goes by as we continue to focus on fossil fuels for energy, we fall further behind the rest of the world in the quest to diversify our offshore energy portfolio.

By continuing to prioritize yesterday’s technologies, we are locking ourselves into an energy future that dooms our climate, harms our environment, and sacrifices human health. The costs of coal, oil, and natural gas have all been kept artificially cheap by government subsidies and by our failure to make polluters pay for the negative effects of their emissions. Artificially lowering the price of these commodities slants the playing field, making it harder for new clean energy sources to compete in the marketplace.

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, and health care)

202.741.6285 or kpeters1@americanprogress.org

Print: Christina DiPasquale (foreign policy and security, energy)

202.481.8181 or cdipasquale@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (ethnic media, immigration)

202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Radio: Anne Shoup

202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton

202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Web: Andrea Peterson

202.481.8119 or apeterson@americanprogress.org

 

Comments are closed.